Foodunity

Making it up as I go along

Thanksgiving our way November 26, 2010

Filed under: New Recipes,Poultry,Remix Recipes — stardust @ 2:26 am

This year, I cooked my very first Thanksgiving meal.  I thought about doing the traditional turkey, dressing and gravy, etc.  Nick and I are not super traditional people.  We like to be a little different.  Plus, I DESPISE dressing/stuffing.  I know you think I’m crazy, but dressing generally makes me want to vom.

I decided to put a twist on tradition.  We had some delicious turkey breast, seared then slow cooked in roasted red pepper soup with carrots and peppers.  It was delicious!  I love my crock pot.  It is low maintenance and the meat is fall off the bone tender.

 

We also had garlic roasted mashed potatoes.  I love mashed potatoes, and I love roasted potatoes.  I think roasting rather than boiling potatoes for mashers is delicious.  I used a mixed bag of small potatoes–no cutting, no peeling!

 

The end result tasted great, despite the appearance.  I mistakenly forget fresh herbs for these potatoes.  Next time, I will also process them less for more texture.

I love a good pan of roasted broccoli with almonds!  I simply use a little extra virgin olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and kosher salt.  I had some fresh pineapple.  It was a lovely addition.

 

Even though Roland only ate crescent rolls, I declare Thanksgiving a success!

 

Leave a Reply

